Hockey Canada to honour retired National Women’s Team players at 2016 IIHF U18 Women’s World Champio

Posted by Amey Doyle on January 09, 2016
Hockey Canada to honour retired National Women’s Team players at 2016 IIHF U18 Women’s World Champio

CALGARY, Alta. – As St. Catharines, Ont., readies to welcome the world with the 2016 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship, Hockey Canada announced it will be honouring three recent Canada’s National Women’s Team retirees on Saturday, Jan. 9.

Jayna Hefford, Gillian Apps, and Catherine Ward announced their retirement from international competition in September. The three Olympic gold-medallists are being honoured during the first intermission of Saturday evening’s Canada-Czech Republic match-up.

“The opportunity to acknowledge these three women not only speaks about them as  individuals, but it’s an opportunity to recognize them as the role models and leaders they are both on and off the ice among their teammates and to all young players involved in the game,” said Melody Davidson, general manager of national women’s team programs, Hockey Canada.

The 2016 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship represents a partnership between Hockey Canada, the Ontario Women’s Hockey Association, and the Niagara Sport Commission, and will feature eight teams – Canada, the Czech Republic, Finland, France, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United States. The championship is a showcase event for the future of women’s hockey and takes place Jan. 8-15, 2016.

“Hosting the 2016 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship on Canadian ice presents a fantastic opportunity for all Canadians to celebrate female hockey. There is no better way to enhance that celebration than to honour these three players, who have been role models and inspirations to young hockey players in Canada and around the world,” said Dean McIntosh, senior director of events and properties for Hockey Canada. “This is a special event for Hockey Canada and our event partners, and we look forward to making the game on Jan. 9 a special night for our three honourees, and the fans who come out to support Team Canada.”

CLICK HERE to continue reading this article

Recommended articles

No related articles